Curried Thai Noodles

What do you make when you’re late getting home on a weekday evening and don’t want to slave away in the kitchen till 10pm?… You make quick and delicious curried Thai noodles! They are ready in 10-15 minutes and satisfy the taste buds after a long day. Not to mention it being packed to the brim with nutrients after a session at the gym.

What I love most about this dish is that you can create many different meals based around the basic broth; so make use of what you have fresh in the garden or leftovers in the fridge.

img_0835

On this occasion, I wanted some protein and a bit of flesh to chew, so I poached some frozen white fish fillets in the coconut milk before adding it to the rest of the broth liquid. I also threw in asparagus spears for more colour and crunch. It was delicious! Make sure you’re generous with the herbs thrown on top. They add an amazing depth to the soup and give your body a great health boost.

The recipe on Heather Christo is vegetarian, so adapt to suit your preferences like I have by adding fish. I use this recipe as a base and starting point for many variations. The only difference to the main structure in my recipe today are the coconut and ginger quantities. I love the warmth of ginger so I add extra, but I decrease the coconut oil to 1 slightly heaped tbsp instead of 2. I don’t think it needs to be as oily considering a tin of coconut milk is added too. This is just my preference though, so you decide what you like 🙂

fullsizerender-6

For the dish you can see in my photographs, use Thai green curry paste instead of red paste. I like the red paste more, but green was what I happened to already have in my store cupboard. The red Thai paste has a stronger kick of heat if you like a bit more of a punch, whereas the green is a lot milder. Once again, this is up to you. They are both full of flavor.

Then of course, you come to the main attraction… Noodles. The Heather Christo Blog uses rice noodle, which are my choice also. They are delicious, and contain less starch. If you are wanting a dish that feels more substantial, then soba, udon and egg noodles are just as good!

Just look at that photo, can you see why I couldn’t wait to give this recipe a try!

spicy-thai-curry-noodle-soup2

Mmm, just thinking about this soup is making my mouth water. I can’t wait for another late or lazy evening where there is an excuse to throw this recipe together and curl up on the sofa slurping up that broth.

fullsizerender-4

I urge you to give it a try. You’ll be bursting with all the goodness packed into one bowl. You’ll not be able to resist going back for more.

Love and Lemons xxx

2 thoughts on “Curried Thai Noodles

Leave a Reply

