Bacon & Cheese Twists…

… You can Thank me later 😉

At the beginning of this blog, I did say that healthy recipes would feature heavily. So far this has not happened, and I’m not sorry….

Having a treat should never be looked upon as bad, and you should never feel guilty about it. As long as you are able to stick to a balanced diet with the occasional indulge, there is nothing stopping you from diving in and enjoying some of the wonderful flavours and recipes that are on offer. I will never deny myself of foods I really want to eat. I just make sure that there is a plan for the rest of the week and pack my diet full of beautiful healthy nutrients. It takes a while to get the right balance, but when you have finally cracked it, you’ll never have to say no to that weekend pudding ever again. Don’t give up J And don’t cut things out thinking it will help. A happy relationship with food is healthy! Don’t make yourself miserable.

This leads me on to the mouth-watering, smoked-bacon wrapped, cheesy goodness of the straws I made last week. They had hardly cooled before eager mouths had devoured them and came back asking for more. There have been many requests to make them again, even from people who have just seen photos!

My Cheesy Bacon Straws

My Cheesy Bacon Straws

I only ate the 1… or 2 maybe… Honest! Everything in moderation.

If you have friends popping over last minute, or you don’t want to faff in the kitchen, then these cheese straws are perfect. You can make them well in advance as they keep in an air-tight container for a few days. There is no chance that they will last that long though! I challenge you to still have some left after a couple of hours! Also, if you are looking for a child friendly recipe for your little helpers, these are brilliant because they can get involved and help you create the twists by layering the bacon and cheese and twirling the pastry.

I must warn you, these are not for the light hearted. Be prepared to be whisked to a bacon and cheese smothered paradise from the very first bite. You’ll be inviting people over for dinner, just for the excuse to make these!

My mouth is watering just thinking about these! And I’m doing Meat Free week as well…. (Blog to come later). This is a form of torture.

Even though I found this recipe on Pinterest, I have been following this ladies blog for a while. The food she posts always looks incredible! There is a mix of everything from healthy to indulgent, and her photographs are beautiful! You’ll be seeing a few more recipes coming from this direction in the future. Thank you Half Baked Harvest for introducing me, and now the readers of my blog to Cheese Bacon Twists.

215ad92623a3967f8d509b77f07b5aa4

Let me know if you give these a go! There is no need for me to post any recipe changes because they are perfect just the way the original recipe suggests. I did scatter a few dried chilli flakes in for a little kick!

The cheese I used was Tesco Vintage and the Cayenne pepper was substituted for smoked paprika 🙂

I hope you enjoy just as much as I did!

http://www.halfbakedharvest.com/sweet-savory-cheesy-bacon-wrapped-puff-pastry-twist/?utm_source=feedly

Love and Lemons xxx

https://www.pinterest.com/lemonskitchen/

2 thoughts on “Bacon & Cheese Twists…

Leave a Reply

