Lamb Burgers with Barley Salad

Lamb Burgers with Feta and Mint Pesto. Accompanied by a Pearl Barley Salad. Delicious!!

There’s nothing I like to do more when I get home from a long day at work, than throwing on my apron and get in the kitchen to cook up a feast. I think this might be the reason that supermodel body is still hanging in the wardrobe…

Having a friend over for the evening is an even bigger excuse to see what delights Pinterest can offer for dinner. I may have used the majority of my lunch break reading recipes I had pinned and deciding what would be suitable for a weekday banquet fit for the royals. It had to be simple but full of flavour, and a fairly quick dish to make so we weren’t eating at 11pm! And wow, I certainly found what I was looking for!

The Greek and Mediterranean cuisines have some of the freshest flavours in their dishes, which is why I turn to this way of eating on a regular basis when I want something that leaves me with a big satisfied grin and a body full of beautiful nourishing nutrients.

I have never made pesto with mint and feta before, so these were completely new flavour pairings to me. I couldn’t wait to dig in and try it drizzled all over a homemade, juicy lamb burger. After one bite, the room went silent and there was no talking until each plate was licked clean with approving faces pleading and hoping there was some left for a second round. A chef can’t get a better compliment than that!

As well as the burgers, I re-created a Pearl Barley Salad from a Pin I have. In order to access the recipe though, I found that you have to have a membership. What do you do in this situation? Get the membership just for that one recipe? Try and find another similar? No, you try and figure out all the ingredients in the dish by staring at the photograph for 5 minutes and use the foodie knowledge you have to guess the other ingredients. It may have been completely off from the original recipe, but who cares, it tasted amazing! (If I do say so myself). This is one recipe I will be making again and again to take for lunches at work. Quick, simple, nutritious, filling and DELICIOUS.

Pearl Barley Salad – Lemon’s Kitchen Style:

– Pearl Barley – 2 cups

– Celery – 1 stick chopped into small chunks

– Cumin Seeds – 1 tsp slightly crushed

– Lamb Stock (I used a Knorr Cube) – Dissolved in 1 cup of hot water

– Water – 5 cups, heated and slowly simmering

– Fresh Coriander – Handful, roughly torn

– Pistachios – Handful, Slightly crushed

– Pomegranate – Seeds from half

– Pepper to taste

Sautee the celery and cumin over a medium heat in a splash of oil (I use Rapeseed) until the celery starts to soften.

Add the barley and stir for a minute until coated oil mixture. Pour in the dissolved lamb stock and simmer, stirring occasionally until all the liquid has been soaked up. Add a pinch of pepper to taste. (No salt needs to be added as the stock cube will already be quite salty).

Repeat this with the remaining water by adding a cup at a time until you have reached the desired barley texture. (Some people like it very soft, whereas I still like a bit of firmness). Make sure to keep an eye on the amount of water you are adding as too much will give you a sticky risotto like finish.

Mix through the fresh coriander, serve up and scatter with the pistachios and pomegranate.

Can be eaten hot or cold.

The photo above is the original pin/recipe from ‘Cooked’. Can’t tell the difference right?! Let me know what you think if you give it a go! It can be eaten with a wide variety of additions! Some chargrilled salmon would be a lovely accompaniment! But back to the main attraction… These wonderfully juicy lamb burgers! The recipe uses pitta bread for the ‘bun’, but to spice it up a little, I used sunflower, pumpkin seed and cranberry bread straight from the ovens at Tesco. It really gives a lift to any sandwich! I also didn’t bother to shred the lettuce and just threw it on in leaf form to give a more rustic look to the burger. Just take a look at that….

You can’t tell me you’re not looking at that wishing you were taking a bite right now… (Unless you are a vegetarian of course!)

The pesto can be made to your own specific tastes. As you can see from the original recipe photo below, there is a dominance of feta, whereas in mine, the pesto is a lot smoother and has a lot more mint packed in for a wonderful taste contrast with the lamb. If you would like my pesto recipe, just drop me a comment or message and I’ll add it to the post!

I really do hope you enjoy these just as much as I have 🙂 My end product looked nothing like the photo above, as you have seen, but a worthy adaptation in my opinion. Which one would you choose?!

Love and Lemons xxx

PS. The Williams-Sonoma blog is really worth a look! There are some amazing dishes there to sink your teeth in to! After looking at the desserts for 5 minutes, I need to go and bury my face into a cake full of rich, creamy dark chocolate ganache…

One thought on “Lamb Burgers with Barley Salad

Leave a Reply

