Peanut Butter Fudge

I’ve come to accept the fact that i am never going to have the Baywatch Bikini body I’ve always dreamt about. My love of food is too great. The figure of a goddess or a deliciously moreish piece (or 2 or 3) of melt-in-the-mouth peanut butter fudge? The sugar won. And if I’m honest with myself, it always will. How can a daily party in your mouth be resisted just to have a well oiled body. Mine stays tucked away so it would be a waste of hard work! 😀

I came across this fudge recipe whilst on my break at work. Pinterest is my current indulgence. I am obsessed with looking at beautifully photographed food and home ideas. What caught my eye was the words ‘Peanut Butter’. I tell myself that I’ll just dip my finger into the crunchy delight, and end up holding a half empty jar with a guilty but satisfied look on my face.

I’ve never tried to make fudge before, so there isn’t a better recipe to start with than a 4 ingredient luxury. Icing sugar, peanut butter, unsalted butter and vanilla extract. I also threw in some chocolate drops as the optional addition. The recipe is adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction

My advice when making this fudge is to USE A BIG BOWL! I thought I could get away with a smaller one and ended up coated in clouds of icing sugar. There is no careful way to fold this into the wet mixture!

Leave the fudge for as long as you can before cutting into it. Simply because you will end up feeling sick from all the broken pieces you can’t possibly hand out to people; plus the square you have to keep aside for the taste test. As I am writing this, I can feel a peanut butter hangover coming on. You won’t be able to stop at just one bite.

To add a little extra to the depth and flavour, I combined the ordinary peanut butter with a teaspoon of Naga Chilli Peanut Butter (ask if you would like to know where to buy). On its own, even the smallest lick packs a punch, so I didn’t need a huge amount. The overall fudge taste hasn’t differed, but every now and again, you get a slight warmth from the chilli that takes the fudge to a new dimension. I thoroughly recommend this. Even for chilli haters (only one friend disagrees!). It doesn’t make the fudge hot and spicy at all, just adds character.

Peanut-Butter-Fudge-3

I’ll be making this recipe again and again in the very near future and creating Christmas gifts for special friends and family. I’ll try adding other flavours too.

Don’t hesitate! Get your lips around these golden nuggets of deliciousness! They keep for up to a week in an airtight container and can be frozen for up to 2 months. I know for sure that they won’t last that long once my office taste testers get their mitts on them!

Recipe:

250g creamy peanut butter (I used crunchy + 1tsp Naga Chilli Peanut Butter)
230g unsalted butter
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp salt (optional, but I added)
460g sifted icing sugar
Chocolate chips (optional, but I added)

Line a square baking dish with foil leaving an overhang on the sides to lift the fudge out easily.

Melt the peanut butter and butter together in a large saucepan. Slice the butter to make it easier to melt. Stir until the mixture is completely melted and smooth. Remove from the heat and mix in the vanilla extract with a wooden spoon or spatula. Add the salt if you prefer. Add the icing sugar and stir until completely combined. The mixture is ver thick and resembles cookie dough. If using any add-ins, fold them into the fudge whilst it is still warm.

Press the fudge into prepared dish, smoothing the top with the back of a spatula or spoon. The top will be a little oily. Cover tightly with foil and chill for at least 4 hours or until firm. Cut into pieces.

Store as commented above.

Please let me know if you try this recipe and any alterations you can suggest.

Love and Fudge xxx

One thought on “Peanut Butter Fudge

Leave a Reply

